Menu

Challenge A for Classical Conversations

tkdkidsmom

There is no way to answer that without more information, but I will tell you what I know based on what I hear from other parents. It is very writing intensive. If you are not familiar with IEW, there will be a learning curve. I think the math would be okay because they do not use an accelerated Saxon sequence. The kids are also having a tough time with the Latin. If your child is a strong writer and has a Latin background, that is a different story. I hear that it is very time intensive. I have been scoping it out for a couple of years, so I always have my ears open. :bigear:

I don't have a child in Challenge yet but I plan to when my kids are ready and one of my best friends works closely with people who are very close to Leigh Bortins and has two kids in Challenge herself. What I have heard is the the workload is supposed to be about 4 hours a day, however it varies widely from child to child depending on their background (writing, Latin, etc.), their ability to memorize and focus/stay on task, and how fast they read. I've heard of it taking up to 10 hours to complete the work but I would imagine there are other things going on in a situation like that.....

They seem to be fine with putting a child in who is above the age they should be but seem more hesitant to put in a child who is younger than 12. But it is all case by case. In my case, I'm putting my kids in "late" because of learning issues in the oldest and health and maturity issues with the second. I'm hoping to put my others in "on time". But if you can prove your child is ready I'm sure they would at least consider it......

Thanks for the replies. We just started Foundations and Essentials this year, and I guess I'm really just thinking ahead.