Menu

goldfish help

It's one 1.5 inch goldfish in a 1 gal tank with a filter. DD has been feeding the fish around 2x per week. We have high chlorine levels in our water, so I put some kind of salt in to help negate that. We haven't done anything at all since we put it in the tank around 3 wks ago. It's still swimming around as normal.

I am a complete goldfish novice. DD was given a little goldfish a few weeks ago, but now it is turning black. What are we doing wrong? What can I do to fix it?

can you attach a photo? Our fish that have been sick, swam around fine, too...until they didn't. We've lost 3 fish in the last week...well, the turtle ate one (we think the remaining carcass spiked the ammonia levels which wound up doing in our 2 plecos).

The black usually indicates healing...it is very likely that your tank spiked nitrates/ammonia during the first month you set up the tank and added the goldfish, and now that it has (hopefully) cycled, the good bacteria has reduced the levels and it's getting better.

Test your water at least once a week...and don't disturb the gravel at the bottom of the tank (that's a natural biofilter...you can clean off the very top of the gravel, but don't try to vacuum it all out).

ETA -- if your water has chlorine, the salt will be minimal help, but you usually need to let the water sit out for 24 hours and/or add a water conditioner designed to take out the chlorine and any heavy metals (a product like stress coat is what you're looking for). You should change out a percentage of the water each week (10-25%), so the day before, let your water sit, condition it, and before adding it, test the water first to make sure it's ph, etc. is balanced. Have fun with your fish (we have to wait a couple more weeks before adding new fish to our tank...as it is finally cycling again after our recent debacle)

Edited by LisaK in VA