Menu

Is there another semi self teaching art besides Atlier?

justLisa

I'm on the fence with this one. I wish I had something to compare it to. I just don't have the time to properly "teach" art to DD. I can help her and do project sometimes but I would love her to watch a lesson or something. I have a hard time fitting it in when I am solely responsible.

Can you get her art supplies, and a beautiful book of art?

Sometimes seeing something beautiful and having the materials to create can motivate someone into exploring their own creativity. You don't need lessons or directions, you need supplies and encouragement :001_smile:

Yes that is a good point. I am just thinking of something to teach her different techniques, KWIM?

I have good supplies....I could stand to have more books, but I don't think she has a natural inclination of how to produce something she sees on paper without some guidance. I am no artist.

Check out the DK book then I linked- its a good one. I prefer it because it is pleasant to look at and written to the reader, instead of a book of lesson plans (like you would use to teach her). It would be a self starter book to keep with the supplies. Usborne has a big art book for younger kids, if she wasn't ready for the DK book.

Would this book be okay for my 6 year old art self teaching boy? Our library does not have a copy and we are bad at the painting part of art.

from someone who was on the atelier fence for years, we LOVE it. So wish I'd bit that bullet years sooner. Worth every penny to this non-artsy mom. My kids do it for fun on their own time!

It looks like I'm just going to purchase the Atelier. I was just hoping for something similar to compare it to but it doesn't look like there is much out there.

What level did you get? I don't know where to place her. She is 6, but rather mature and picks up art techinques with ease.