Menu

Co-op class and the new child (she's mormon and wanted everyone to know it!)

I met this new homeschool family back in the summer at a co-op field trip. They don't smile. The whole family doesn't smile. Seriously. The mom if you smile at her and keep smiling at her gives you a weak attempt at a smile. I sort of felt unsettled by it. It was really weird at the time and I brushed it off, as they were new and unsettled themselves about meeting all these new people. Later, I learned that Dad had an epiphany and forced the family to start attending the Mormon church. Mom grew up non-denominational. Ok, to each his own.

Mom and at least one daughter is deaf, unsure about baby. I studied as a sign language interpreter. So, I'm comfortable around the hearing impaired and can communicate easily. The one daughter seemed a bit wild in her behaviour, dress and physical appearance, like Helen Keller wild and angry.

I taught my grade 2-3 co-op class today and our new student arrived. This wild child, daughter. I greeted her verbally (I could see her hearing aids were in), she grunted at me, shoved pasted me and took a seat. OK, that was interesting. I started the class and gave directions making sure the classroom was silent before I gave those directions and making sure she was looking at me and my face was easily accessible for lip reading if necessary. I've done this before, so I know what to do.

This child did not follow any directions during the whole class. My friend would have to touch her shoulder, get in her face and repeat everything I said. Then the child would do about 30% of what was asked of her.

This is a lapbooking class. There are a lot of directions. I know she could understand what was being said, because she would respond to another girl across the room at a screaming level, trying to enter into that conversation.