Menu

An article I think we should all read

The New Yorker has an article about how child molesters get away with it. Jerry Sandusky is the main focus but there's a lot about how pedophiles generally operate. It seems to be to be an excellent piece.

When I was in high school, I knew a popular and charming man who was known for his concern for troubled kids. He was a lawyer in the DA's office and often hosted troubled teen boys in his own home (despite having two young teen daughters!). He also coached Little League. He was exactly this kind of predator, and was caught around the time I graduated from high school. I don't think anyone had a clue.

• Replies 217
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Excellent. I like Malcolm Gladwell's writing anyway, but here I like the way he lays out so clearly the exact methods (vetting, pushing the potential victim further and further, stopping with apologies when caught or rejected. And it's true-grooming is not punishable, or even, really clearly distinguishable from normal behavior, taken as a single event.

Excellent. I like Malcolm Gladwell's writing anyway, but here I like the way he lays out so clearly the exact methods: vetting, pushing the potential victim further and further, stopping with apologies when caught or rejected. And it's true-grooming is not punishable, or even, really clearly distinguishable from normal behavior, taken as a single event.

The Sandusky case—like all cases of child molestiation—is horrifying. And no doubt pedophiles use the sort of "grooming" techniques described in the article. But sports coaches and others (who are perfectly innocent) also need to at times "touch" children if they are going to help kids learn to play properly. I coached a kids basketball team last season. I sometimes "touched" boys when showing them how to guard or how to shoot, etc.