Menu

Help: biotic vs abiotic factors

kiwik

I did the first chapter of the first Mr Q science with my sons (3 and 5) the other day. They loved it but now everything has to be classified. I have no trouble with something dead still being biotic and I can follow crude oil being biotic but surely being made of wood doesn't make my house biotic? What about a wooden spoon? Is soup biotic or just the vegetables in it or does the water component take precedence?

Aaagh why did I start this? The rest of the unit seems simple though.

Thanks

Um, I'm not clear on what you are asking. I did a PhD on the effect of Biotic and Abiotic factors on the population of mice, so I definitely know what you are talking about but I don't understand your question.

I think of biotic and abiotic factors *affecting* something. So biotic factors affected my mouse population size because individuals of the same species and different species competed for food, and predators ate the mice. Also, the tree produced nuts, but some years they had masting years, so the nuts were in huge abundance. Abiotic factors are droughts that would reduce the food, or the cold weather that would actually kill the mice.

If you have a clear question, I would be happy to answer it.

Ruth in NZ

Edited by lewelma

In Mr. Q's Life Science curriculum (free to download), he starts with a discussion of abiotic vs biotic things and asks the student to classify items around their environment. (http://www.eequalsmcq.com/download%20life%20science%20student%20by%20Sunit.htm.) It's the first lesson in unit 1. I think if you think too hard on it, you can start to skew abiotic vs biotic, as he defines them.