Menu

Almost-empty-nest syndrome: how do you deal with this?

I've been homeschooling for 18 years now, and hard as it is to believe, the end is coming into view...and I don't know how to handle it. This summer, I have had all four of my sons at home, but likely for the last time: the oldest (22) is home temporarily after being away at school the last three years and will soon move away again; my second (20) just headed back to university for his second year; my third (almost 18) graduated this summer and is taking a year off (as his older brothers did) to work and plan for the following year; and my youngest (13) is still at home, doing grade 8.

You'd think I'd feel as though I have a full house again, but really, it just feels as though they're all slipping away. Because my youngest is 4 1/2 yrs younger than the next brother up, he will be very much on his own here for the next few years as all his brothers will most probably be gone. I know he already feels lonely, though he does have a co-op he attends on Thursdays. And I feel the loneliness too, as a single parent (widowed) with no extended family.

I know that most hs'ing moms have their husbands to rely on once they finish hs'ing, but even so, how do you deal with the end of the era when it comes? How do you manage the sense of loneliness both for yourself at that time and for the youngest child alone at home the last few years? Those younger years seemed to last foreve, but now they just seem to be flying away.

It's kind of funny that you opened this topic, because I've been toying with starting a thread about some similar feelings.