Menu

Missing the plan

mothergooseof4

I have been hsing for 12 years and have used SL, HOD, and MFW. They are all excellent, but this year I found that none fit us in this season. I have specific books that I want my oldest to read and I want him to have some freedom to read things he wants to read. When he has all of the assigned reading, he doesn't read for pleasure which I think is important. My next ds is just learning to enjoy reading and I don't want to bog him down with assigned reading.

I want to keep my kids together for history so I am using TruthQuest. I do like the guide and the book list, but our library doesn't have but a handful of the books. I purchased a couple of the spines and have been reading them aloud, then assigning some other reading or book basket time with science or history related books. I am finding that I have the same problem that I was having with MFW; the spines are over my younger two dc heads. Also, while I love the idea of TQ, I am having a hard time getting it done. With no schedule or plan, I lose motivation.

We used MFW RtR last year and I had purchased Exp.-1850 for this year, but I wanted a different Bible study for my oldest. There are books that I want him to read this year that I feel will help him to grow spiritually. While I want the ease and family experience of reading history together, it just doesn't seem to work like I think it should. It did for a while, but as my oldest has hit his teens, he seems to get more out of it if he reads or listens on his own then we discuss. The younger two don't seem to listen at all and I think it is because the books are too mature. I also want all of the shared family learning such as doing maps together, cooking, projects, etc. But, again, it just doesn't seem to meet everyone's needs. I have a hard time giving this idea up though because I want that family learning style.