Menu

SIL is considering bringing 1st grade niece home. Curric suggestions?

QuirkyKidAcademy

SIL is a small business owner, so she needs an open-and-go curriculum. Niece is motivated and bright. This may very well be a one-year deal as the object is to get her out of a classroom where the teacher is bullying her and the principal refuses to move her. Next year niece will probably go back to brick-&-mortar school.

I've encouraged SIL to have her do lots of reading and solidify her math skills while she considers curric options.

What math programs would you suggest she look at? Phonics?

What about other subjects? Are they necessary? If so, which subjects and which programs should she look at?

(I am a certified teacher, but my son has some learning differences. I spend a great deal of time detailing lessons to fit him; something SIL is unable to do. I am also 1200 miles away and can't sit down with her to go over things in person.)

Thanks for any and all help!

If there's a good chance she might end up back in Bricks and Mortar, does her district offer a virtual academy which might make life easier?

Are they religious? If so, which religion?

How much time does Mom have each day?

Does she need something scripted or just planned out?

What's her budget?

Is she reading yet? Here's my standard first grade line-up that I don't think would cause problems when returning next year.

Ordinary Parent's Guide to Teaching Reading (if she's not reading yet)

First Language Lessons 1

Writing With Ease 1

Writing Fundamentals

Math Mammoth 1

Spelling Workout A & B

That would be my core to start with. She could always add in science and history, but she won't miss out on much of that in first grade.

Or she could just do something like this to start out with and see how it goes.

I've encouraged SIL to have her do lots of reading and solidify her math skills while she considers curric options.

What math programs would you suggest she look at? Phonics?

:iagree: