Menu

Apologia Science VS Switched on Schoolhouse

sabrina

they did not like it - lots of mistakes in answer keys - found they had to just go back and check it for themselves - other negatives as well - can't remember them right off -seems lessons were not challenging, and kids found it boring. However, talked with a friend yesterday who used it this past year - conceded that there were a number of quirks, but that they had worked out some previous bugs. Overall she was pleased with the curriculum - her children are self-taught - she is returning to work this past week (one reason she chose SOS fyi).

Hope this helps!

We are going to use SOS Science. The kids like it so far. I have one using it in grade 3. The other is using Gr 8 and we will continue him through high school. 8th and 9th grade seem to cover biology...and the other grades cover chemistry etc. Take a look at the scope and sequence.

We need it because its independent. Both my dh and I now work full time. SOS is a blessing for us. We could not do Apologia without being right there and hands on...and Our son wouldn't enjoy it. The new 2008 edition is supposed to have many bugs worked out...so I will be buying it for this fall.

I have used SOS science 6th, 7th, and 8th grade. I have not used Apologia General Science, but have used the Biology, Chemistry, Biology II, and Physics from Apologia.