Menu

Curriculum that meets common core standards?

paysensmom

I started a thread last week about homeschooling without curriculum. I am spending SOOOOO much of my time researching. I am just about ready to send them back to school. :sad: I do not want to do that.

This is my first year homeschooling my children. I have a 3rd and 5th grader and a very active 17 month old! I have ordered math mammoth curriculum 1-6 and I plan to supplement my math with MEP. We also use Khan Academy. I think I am realizing that I probably wasted my money because math seems to be the one thing I have had success with finding and putting together myself for the children..... I am using the KISS grammar and have Scott Foresman bookmarked on my computer.

This is our third week of homeschooling. I am getting pretty overwhelmed. I am pretty sure I would like to follow the common core standards at the very minimum since my children will be taking the state tests. I would love to do more though!

We have really only had the chance to focus on math, reading/literature, spelling and some vocabulary. I hardly even started and I feel like I am failing miserably. Want to know the sad part? I am a certified teacher and I used to teach special education!!! (hanging my head in shame) I just don't know how to manage my time and put things to use.

I am really looking for your advice and guidance. I am in tears over this and I don't know how to fix it.

Have you read The Well Trained Mind? The authors offer up a curriculum plan for each year, with suggested daily schedules. Now, I personally think that the daily schedules seem a bit much (they make, IMHO, for very long days for young kids), but reading them might give you an idea of a way to fit things in?

I think that concentrating on English and Math is a perfectly fine way to start the year. That's what most schools do, too. They're the basis for everything else.