Menu

OPGTTR suggestion for my reading 6yo

mamamindy

We got to lesson 108 with my 6yo before stopping for summer break sometime in June. She LOVES to read & if given the choice of activity, it is what she chooses. :) That is to say, she's reading well. How important is it that we finish the OPG? I was going to just try to finish it up with her when we start back up (on Monday, hopefully!) but I fear it may be too easy for her.

I'm not an expert, but I'm using OPGTR for the second time right now, so I have some experience.

Dd-now-9 is a natural reader. She flew through OPG very quickly pretty young. I went ahead and put her through the whole thing just to reassure myself that she had a solid foundation in phonics. She read so fast that the lessons were never long or too boring - after the bit of explanation from me (as scripted) she would just run through the words, read the sentences, and be done.

Dd5 is not the same story. We've now been working with OPG for almost 2 years. She needs the systematic approach more than Dd9 did, and even though she's lately picked up her reading pace and is doing lots better than 6 months ago, I still find a lot of value in OPG for her.

Lesson 108 is before multi-syllable words are introduced. Does your dd work well with them? I really like the way OPG deals with them.

I guess I would suggest just running through the lessons for the sake of making sure any possible gaps are covered. But YMMV!

Hope that Helps!

Mama Anna

I've rarely done more than one lesson per day. With my second dd, we would stretch the lessons out over two or sometimes three days - but she was younger than six.

In the back of the book ("Questions and Answers for the Ordinary Parent") Wise suggests that a young child start with 10 minute lessons and work up to about 30 minutes. If your child can do more than one lesson in 30 minutes and doesn't seem to be rushed, why not?

(Please see disclaimer in my earlier post . . . :))

Mama Anna