Menu

Visual Latin users...a few ?'s

Alison in KY

I'm just getting started with VL with my oldest. I really like the teaching style he has. I read somewhere that his emphasis is on reading the Latin, and not doing vocab. memorization. Can't remember where I got that from. I think he says do 2 lessons a week, but I've seen where others are stretching the A, B, and C pages out over 3 days.

I'd love to get some feedback on how you schedule VL in your day (do you do it all at once, spread it out, etc). Also, do you make vocab. cards up with the words and go over them every day? We did Latina Christina 1 last year with a co-op and used our vocab cards daily. As much as I didn't like doing it, I think it really helped learn the new words. IF you don't study the vocab. words, how is it working for you to just watch the videos and do the worksheets? Anything else I've left out?

Thank!

I'm just getting started with VL with my oldest. I really like the teaching style he has. I read somewhere that his emphasis is on reading the Latin, and not doing vocab. memorization. Can't remember where I got that from. I think he says do 2 lessons a week, but I've seen where others are stretching the A, B, and C pages out over 3 days.

I'd love to get some feedback on how you schedule VL in your day (do you do it all at once, spread it out, etc). Also, do you make vocab. cards up with the words and go over them every day? We did Latina Christina 1 last year with a co-op and used our vocab cards daily. As much as I didn't like doing it, I think it really helped learn the new words. IF you don't study the vocab. words, how is it working for you to just watch the videos and do the worksheets? Anything else I've left out?

Thank!