Menu

Head Covering questions!

Where did you get your head coverings and can you link up a video/instructions on how you tie/wear yours?

I am new to head covering and I tried a scarf from walmart but i look like a cancer patient and I really want a snood, but they are expensive! I cant knit or crochet and I did try sewing one but it was way too tight!

We're of the Eastern Orthodox Christian tradition and many women in parishes cover. The easiest and most comfortable and don't-worry-about-it style that I've found is just getting a 32-36 inch square piece of material, fold it in half bandana style and tie it under your chin. Second easiest: Get a long rectangular piece of material (my favorite one was actually a sarong, LOL), center it on your head and flip both ends over opposite shoulders.

Other ideas:

Mommaduck (from here) makes and sells head coverings. I just ordered one.

Tznius has some great coverings and instructions on different ways to tie and wear them.

I just got two from Mommaduck..... I love them! :001_wub:

(and I just got them for wear-around, as they are so pretty. I feel too shy to wear them to church, though there is no reason why I should feel that way. I guess I am worried about drawing attention to myself, which presupposes that someone even notices what I am wearing or doing in church! There's your vanity right there! :D)

I am intrigued by Mommaduck. :)

But I get all mine at Garlands of Grace. They range from practical to really lovely. I think they are pretty amazing. And they have several different styles so you can poke around and see what works best for you.

I saw them, I LOVE LOVE LOVE the lace Snood she has! I wish i could make something like that, but I dont know how to gather fabric like that and mine would never turn out as pretty as GOG.

Some of those Garlands of Grace ones look like they are only a headband. Is that considered covering? ( I honestly don't know, not being snarky.)