Menu

Tell me about Boy Scouts and an 11yo joining for the first time.

My oldest son is contemplating Boy Scouts. He's really on the fence. We don't really know anyone personally that does it, but we are going to a meeting on Monday with a Pack/Troop (?) at a church with a lot of homeschoolers. My husband and I have no personal experience with scouts. There are some particular activities that he is interested in like archery. But, he keeps telling he's not interested in camping (although, I think if he got involved that would change). Is this the main focus?

How does everything work together, because there's advancement, merit badges, and then whatever they do as a group?

Is it feasible for an 11yo with no scouting experience in scouting just jump right in? Would he be really behind?

What expenses are involved?

thanks

C is 6yrs old and we are doing Girl Scouts. I know its a tad different, but ill give you my experience :)

The FIRST group we joined I hated and so did she. It was a smaller group (5 girls). They met at a church 1 day a month. Theyd start by sitting in a circle and reading a story, then theyd do snack time, then craft, then theyd do a small service project for their badge and thats it. Go Home. They didnt have good communication to parents, they werent involved in the community and they never told me how C would get badges or anything, let alone Bridge to Brownies. We quickly left after there was a MAJOR miscommunication with Girl Scout Day Camp.

-----------------------------------

The new group we found? WONDERFUL!!! They are ALL Homeschoolers! Its a semi small group of 10 girls. They have WONDERFUL communication with parents. The girls are constantly getting together, even outside of meetings. Im very happy with this group.

-As for badges, its my understanding they perform the service/action/item and then theres a ceremony for the badge. I guess every group could do it differently though.