Menu

Low-carbers...chocolate cake...YUM!!

I have tried several low-carb cake and brownie recipes and haven't really found anything worth making a second time. But, tonight I tried the following recipe and LOVED it. Now, maybe it's just because I've been doing LCHF for 5 months and my tastes have changed, but my dh and dd (neither is doing LCHF) also tried it and liked it.

You can see her full blog post with the recipe here: http://www.healthyindulgences.net/

Now, if I could just figure out how to make this in a way that would serve maybe 6-8 people, I could make birthday cakes or other celebratory cakes.

* Exported from MasterCook *

Healthy Instant Chocolate Cake

Recipe By :

Serving Size : 1 Preparation Time :0:00

Categories : Cakes & Frostings Low Carb

Amount Measure Ingredient -- Preparation Method

-------- ------------ --------------------------------

1/2 Tablespoon unsalted butter**

4 teaspoons half and half cream OR lite coconut milk

1/16 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 beaten egg

5 Tablespoons almond flour -- gently packed

2 teaspoons coconut flour

2 Tablespoons erythritol OR 2 Tablespoons Truvia

3 packets good-tasting stevia OR scant 1/16 teaspoon pure stevia extract (if using erythritol) -- (3 to 4)

1 Tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder (recommended: Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder)

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon vinegar

Makes 1 large serving

**For a dairy-free/paleo version of this cake, use coconut oil or nonhydrogenated organic shortening and lite coconut milk. You can use a tablespoon of honey and the listed amount of stevia to sweeten it.