Menu

Silly Math Question....(or things are getting too serious around here)

What is 1/2 of a 6 shelf book case  

1. 1. What is 1/2 of a 6 shelf book case

• 1 for dh, 5 for me
    • 3 for both
    • obligatory other
    • kilts, shopping carts, math, and crockpots!

ETA: MULTIPLE ANSWERS ALLOWED

I have a math question.

If you have a completely empty 6 shelf bookcase that you agreed to share 50/50 with your dh does that mean

3 shelves for him and 3 shelves for you

or

1 shelf for him, 5 for you?

We are having a disagreement (in a fun, teasing way) He thinks I am not very good at fractions as I think 1/2 is 5 shelves for me:D

Oh, I am going to make this a poll.

(and yes, I do really know he is right, but have fun with me!:lol:)

Edited by Northwest_Mama

Other.....

Since no one wants the bottom shelf, that leaves 5. (and you can use the bottom since he doesn't want it anyways.)

With 5 to split, he would get two, and you get two. THere is one left over that he doesn't want, so you get that one too.

So, to me you would get two (the equal split of 4) and the two he didn't want.

He can have two.....unless, he doesn't really want those two either, and then you can have it ALL. :D

Are your shelves for homeschooling books? That makes a big difference!

Some books are in the grey area. If they are mentioned in The Well Educated Mind are they homeschooling books? Books that homeschool mom, or relax mom so that she can then teach?

Other.....

Since no one wants the bottom shelf, that leaves 5. (and you can use the bottom since he doesn't want it anyways.)

With 5 to split, he would get two, and you get two. THere is one left over that he doesn't want, so you get that one too.

So, to me you would get two (the equal split of 4) and the two he didn't want.

He can have two.....unless, he doesn't really want those two either, and then you can have it ALL. :D

I like you reasoning:D