Menu

New here and just curious

I just found this blog/forum a few weeks ago and I'm still getting a feel for the community. I was curious about the demographic. I'm a grad student in my 20s. I'm a SAHM for the most part with one DD on the ground who I'm getting ready to HS and a DS on the way this winter. My brother and I were HS'ed for religious/social reasons. I'm HS'ing because I think I can do a better job educating my children than can a poorly paid government employee. Anyone want to chime in and tell me a little about their lives and families?

I have a 3 year old and a 9 month old. I ended up here because I was researching homeschooling and stayed.

I plan to homeschool because I want to, I like the idea of being able to to tailor to my children's abilities and interests, and because my husband has worked a non traditional schedule for many years so this should allow more family time.

I won't be actually homeschooling for a year or two. Right now we like to spend an hour or two a day with me reading aloud, he plays, we do a lot of messy sensory stuff, and when it's nice we try to be outside. DD is along for the ride.

There are a lot of parents here who homeschool, but some are afterschoolers who utilize a public or private school for their children.

I think you'll find a huge range of ages, regions, philosophies, and life experiences represented here!! :)

As for me, I'm in my mid 30's with a 9 year old son. DS went to public school for a few years, but we just kept feeling a pull to homeschool, and we knew we could give him a more personalized education and add more time back into our lives!

Hey Marychance! Welcome and BTW, I love your pic. I've been think it for a couple of days. :)