Menu

What is the *best* way to sell curriculum?

I have had successes and failures through the years. I need to streamline and have a ton of books...both individual and heavy sets (like SL and MFW) that I need to sell. I thought of having a local book sale but doubt many will care to come out all this way to see them. That would be a lot of work for nothing. The PO charges a ton for first class, and I don't trust media mail. Where do I advertise, and how do I ship easily and safely? What do you wrap mailed books in? I need tips please so I can get this ball rolling. Thanks!

I've been selling for five years and I've never had a problem with media mail. I've had trouble with personal checks so I ask for PayPal only. I always include shipping in my prices and I use multiple listings (here, Amazon used, homeschoolclassifieds.com and Ebay). Most times I still end up donating many books to charity thrift stores to make room on the shelves. Good luck! :)

I've never had a mishap when shipping media in years past, but I did suffer a $600 loss when my dh shipped a (new) curriculum return of mine and failed to insure it. :001_huh: Yes, I filed a meticulous po report with pictures, detailed list, etc. It had been packed in a large box and taped by me, so I know it was snug and secure. I live in a small town and the post office ladies chat with me, and they have actually told me that media mail is treated rather poorly. My lost box was put in a huge crane with thousands of media boxes , lifted high in the air, and dropped into a large holding bin. They said many boxes are destroyed that way and unrecoverable. Not good. I was just afraid to take the risk in having anything I mailed to someone getting lost or damaged. I sold just a few things last year, and between getting nice sturdy boxes, heavy tape, bubble wrap, and then the first class postage, I lost 2/3 of any small profit I was hoping for. :tongue_smilie: