Menu

another spelling question

momma aimee

i tired to do a search, i am not good at it i guess...

so what is a good phonics based spelling curr? one that is rule based and logical -- ie not random words?

We use ETC for our phonics but looking for a bit more 'practice' based on rules -- where he has to 'output' (as well as intake in ETC).

first grade and not reading independently yet --

Writing Road To Reading http://www.amazon.com/Writing-Road-Reading-6th-Rev/dp/0062083937/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1342461021&sr=8-1&keywords=writing+road+to+reading It's the Spalding method that people talk about on these forums. I haven't used it, but I have looked through this book and I think it's a pretty good program. It would help with spelling and phonics instruction and spelling rules etc. Seems like I've read that Montessori type schools sometimes use it.

We just finished aas 1 today. It is easy to follow and fairly fun. If you don't want to use the magnets you could just use paper or a white board. I usually use the magnets for teaching a lesson just to mix it up a bit. Dd prefers to write her words using a white board not using the magnets or paper.

i tired to do a search, i am not good at it i guess...

so what is a good phonics based spelling curr? one that is rule based and logical -- ie not random words?

We use ETC for our phonics but looking for a bit more 'practice' based on rules -- where he has to 'output' (as well as intake in ETC).

first grade and not reading independently yet --

First grade and second grade- Rod and Staff Phonics 1 and Phonics 2.

Grades 3-8= Rod and Staff Spelling.

two ten yrs old and an 8yrs old. What do you mean olders? Are you talking about high schooler? No I am not doing with high schoolers but late elementary and early middle school.

I have a feeling high schoolers may be offended if I pulled AAS out. Hard to say. I guess it depends on the child.