Menu

Which Language Arts? (gr. 1-2)

AsgardCA

Edit: Ok, I'm looking at WWE, AAS & AAR. Do these overlap at all? Is it overkill? What about with the Shurley English that we've already got? I would love to get the AAR Pre-1 for DS4, too.

I've been trying to plan our second year and realized I don't have much in terms of language arts for DS. He's 6, doing grade 1-2 work, and he's been reading very well since 4, but is self-taught.

I've recently got Wordly Wise 3000 K for younger DS and was thinking of getting it for DS too. I've got the Shurley English 1 TM, but I'm not sure what else I need to cover everything (phonics, grammar, spelling, vocab, etc.) in language arts. Any suggestions?

What I've got for him so far:

Geography - (focus on Canada, then World) replaced by History Odyssey when we're done

French

Science - Start Up Science (Singapore), then R.E.A.L.

Math - finish Saxon 1, Saxon 2/Singapore/JUMP (not sure)

Arts - composer study, Music for Little Mozarts

Am I missing anything else?

Edited by meggeh

I've recently got Wordly Wise 3000 K for younger DS and was thinking of getting it for DS too. I've got the Shurley English 1 TM, but I'm not sure what else I need to cover everything (phonics, grammar, spelling, vocab, etc.) in language arts. Any suggestions?

Since he is self taught in reading, I would make sure he is strong on his basic phonics, which can have gaps in a child who was self taught. You could go through a book like The Ordinary Parent's Guide to Reading and skipping sections that are obviously too easy for him.

For grammar, the Shurley English would fit that bill if you wanted to do it since you already have part of the program.

Would you like a workbook approach or an approach that requires more of you? All About Spelling is awesome for this.