Menu

Life of Fred Elementary - worth the price?

kemilie

I'm considering buying LOF Elementary as a fun supplement for my 6 1/2 year old to read with his Dad in the evenings. He's quick with math, and I've read some good reviews on it. For those of you who have already taken this *plunge* - did your kids enjoy them? Did you feel it was worth the cost after actually getting/seeing/reading the books? I have no experience with the LOF materials so just hesitate to spend $16/each on books that are only 128 pages long! I read a review that stated there are numerous errors in this first edition set too... but only saw that stated in one review/ Anyone agree/disagree with that statement?

Thanks for any input!

They are pricey, IMO, and I think it would have been nice to have offered them in paperback.

I am going through them with my youngest. Yes, he's too old for them, but believe it or not, it has helped see math from a different angle, and the review has been nice. There is so much non-math stuff that we have a ball reading them. He actually begs me to read them.

My consolation is they have a high resale value. I'm just going to keep buying them and then sell them when I'm all finished. Or, maybe I'll keep them for grandkids. ;)

I agree, they're pricy. My 7 yr old just flew through the first book. Although she really liked it, I don't think she learned much from it. Maybe some of the later ones might challenge her, but I don't know that I want to spend $16 a book to find out. I may look at the table of contents of each book, if possible, and skip to one that looks like it would cover new material for her. I wouldn't bother at all, except she really liked it and wants to keep going with them.

They are pricey for a supplement. I don't think I'd count them worth the price for that. They were intended as an actual curriculum though and for that, they are cheap. I haven't met too many who feel comfortable using them that way, though. :)