Menu

Do you ever feel you're wasting your time posting?

Okay, maybe I'm too sensitive...but I can't help but open up this conversation. I've been posting here for a few years now, and although I don't post nearly as often as others, I think I'm known by at least a few as a "regular" by now.

I mostly just read the boards and have learned more here than from any homeschool group I could have ever joined irl. I love the Hive, but there's an aspect that has bothered me for a long time now. The problem is that when I do take the time to post in reply to someone's thread I quite often feel completely ignored in the conversation. Can anyone relate to what I'm saying here, or is it just me?

Having this happen is like being at a social gathering trying to join in conversations, but no one will talk to you or even respond to your comments. It's like standing in the middle of a party, drink in hand, yet no one acknowledges that you're even there. I tell you, there are times that I feel all alone in a sea of people. Once in awhile I get positive feedback on suggestions I make, curriculum I've had success with, etc. But it's the joining in on conversations that have already started that I get bugged the most about. (NOTE: Quite often when I start a thread I do get wonderful support and replies, so I'm not feeling COMPLETELY ignored. :D)

Because of this I have a couple of suggestions to consider: If someone has chimed in with something nice to say or input to add to the conversation, maybe once in awhile try to acknowledge that they're there. If someone takes time to share about a curriculum or offer suggestions of some sort, at least let them know that their efforts in sharing are appreciated.

This may come across as self-centered, I realize, but I really don't mean it to be so. I'm just saying how I feel at times, and I wonder if there are others that often feel ignored as well.

Blessings,

Lucinda

• Replies 252
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic