Menu

Exploring Creation with Biology?

Can anyone give me their opinion of this program? Obviously I won't be using it anytime soon, but I found a copy of the 2nd edition textbook for it at my local thrift shop today for $1 and I'm trying to decide if I should hold onto it or sell it. We'd probably be using the SL schedule with it fwiw.

I've heard Apologia's texts have errors - is that true? How bad are they? How "Christian" is the text - could it be used fairly secularly by some who isn't Christian?

This is just my opinion based on teaching from this text in a co-op setting and I am not an expert in Biology (my degree is in Psychology).

I didn't see any errors in the text. However, other texts (i.e. BJU Biology) have updated certain topics (i.e. classification of bacteria). It doesn't mean Apologia's text is wrong, it just doesn't reflect some of the changes in studying Biology or mention some topics which are under debate in the scientific community like the BJU text does. Overall, I think the content in Exploring Creation with Biology is solid.

However, I don't like the chatty style of the text (some kids love it!) and I don't like how it talks down to the student (paraphrase: this topic is really hard, and you might not understand it, but we'll try to make it simple for you - over and over again).

As for using it secularly? I prefer Christian textbooks, so it's hard for me to judge. But the whole point of Exploring Creation with Biology is to see the wonder of God's creation all around us. I think it could be used from a Judeo-Christian or deist POV. You should be able to get a feel for this by glancing through it.