Menu

Can anyone compare LLATL and Sonlight LA?

Marsha

I don't know how much this may (or may not) help...

I've just started the 2005 Sonlgiht LA 2: Reading with Easy Readers. I'm on lesson 7 of LLATL Yellow. They are very, very similar.

They both have copywork/dictation.

I like how Sonlight incorporates daily reading into the schedule. LLATL has Literature Links. About 4 a year. You spend a whole week on one book, doing different writing and grammar activities.

I am thinking that Sonlight LA 2 is perfect for my upcoming 2nd grader as a LLATL substitute. (The Red book assumes that they still need phonics instruction.)

I'm not good at "reviews" especially since I'm pretty new to both. Maybe someone else will see this??

I purchased LLATL last year for my 6 yo and 11 yo. I had the yellow and tan. The yellow was very simple. I found the lessons too easy for her...so we sold that before starting.

The tan was fine for 6th grade, but the copywork is a lot longer then SL.

This year we are using SL LA 4, LA1 and LA 2 int. I think the work is very nice. All have a nice intro to Copywork. It is based on the the readers not biblical. I think LLATL was all based on Religous statements or biblical versus. (Not bad...just a lot longer writing and older wording)

SL LA incorporates a lot of writing in my view. We did Abeka all year and they dont have much writing instruction. SL is very easy introduction all year long...not just chapter x, y and z.

I dont remember how LLATL was with writing so I cant compare that.

Our readers are really nice. I am really liking them. I think many are in LLATL as well...but just different grades.