Menu

Gardeners-If I plant something that should spread (like impatiens)

in little holes cut in the black plastic that you put under mulch (to keep weeds down), will it still be able to spread, or should I cut the space that I cut in the plastic bigger to allow for spreading, or what?

I'm a novice at this! I'm planting impatiens and coleus in this area, and I want it to be able to get nice and big in mounds like it usually does, but wondering if it needs more bare soil area around it to spread, or if it will just spread over the plastic and mulch or what?

Thanks! Oh, and also, this area gets about 2 hours of direct sun per day from about 3-5 p.m.-will the impatiens and coleus (shade plants) be ok there? I'm asking because I need to baby these plants-we are TIGHT on funds so I bought these because they were cheaper and I think they'll spread. And I can't have them die because we can't buy any more! As it is, we have to wait prbly a month to even get the money to buy the mulch to put over the black plastic.:glare:

Happy Gardening!

Impatiens "spread" by creating a big mound from the original plant. They don't send off new plants or shoots like some perennials do. You will want the hole to be big enough to allow for a clump of stems to attach in the center and thicken the original plant.

I think the main issue for impatiens being planted through plastic is water (are you using actual landscaping fabric that lets water through?). Water is also the issue regarding the two hours of direct sun. In Ohio, impatiens will tolerate the sun if they stay moist. They will get bigger, but not as big as if they had shade with some diffuse light. I would guess that impatiens would not tolerate the sun in more southern states.