Menu

Book club suggestions for 9th grade girls?

I've been running a book club for the past two years, which has been going really well. It's a great group of girls, and we've had some great discussions. Most of the girls are homeschooled, but a couple are in ps. Next year, that balance is going to shift, as most (though not all) of the now 8th grade girls will be headed to high school next year (including mine). But it's pretty unanimous that we want the book club to continue through the high school years.

Anyhow, I have a list of books "for the future". Some I'd like to wait on till the girls are a bit older. I'm also trying to use books that they won't also be assigned in English class (though I'm fine with using a different book by the same author - so if the school has them reading Pride and Prejudice, maybe we'd go with Emma). I'm also trying to stay away from huge tomes (though there are a few on my list :rolleyes:), as I figure they're going to have a lot of other assigned reading and I want to keep this fun and not overwhelming. I do want books with lots of meat for discussion, good language, from different genres and time periods, that girls will enjoy.

So, any suggestions? For background, the past two years we've already read these books (and we've done LL8 and LLfLoTR and read all those books):

7th grade: Nory Ryan's Song, Girl of the Limberlost, Julie of the Wolves, A Wrinkle in Time, A Wizard of Earthsea, Bambi: A Life in the Woods, Watership Down, The Hound of the Baskervilles, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Little Women

8th grade: Captains Courageous, War of the Worlds, I, Robot, House of Stairs (Sleator), Silas Marner, Twenty Thousand Leagues under the Sea (Miller translation), Lost Horizon, A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court, Red Scarf Girl, Dracula

This is my current short list for 9th, very subject to change:

The Martian Chronicles

Frankenstein

Autobiography of Frederick Douglass

something by Austen

Tale of Two Cities

Flatland