Menu

Using MFW w/ 4 yr history cycle

Mommie_Jen

This idea came to me sometime in the night. I'm not even sure I was awake. :D I like most of what I see of MFW. I've researched and I don't think I'm a full blown classical homeschooling mom. (Heck, what do I know. I'm just getting started. But that thread on knowing your hsing philosophy was a great read for me!)

I like the samples of CtG, RtR, Ex-1850, and 1850-Mod. I'm not that much of a fan of the 1st grade or the Adventures years. So, that being said...what do you all think of working through the history cycle of MFW starting in 1st grade, hitting them all twice before high school? Seems more like what I am wanting for us - a classical approach to history and then using our own math, Bible, science, and LA program.

Good idea? Bad idea?

ETA: Thought about just doing it myself, but I'm way ADD and need something fairly structured and laid out, but yet tweakable.

Edited by Mommie_Jen

We have used MFW K, 1st, Adventures, ECC, and CtG. We'll be starting RtR this July. So we're obviously fans of MFW here.

To answer your question -- I think that MFW 1st is more age appropriate for 1st grade than CtG. MFW 1st uses Biblical history to help 1st graders learn skills like reading and narration. It's a wonderful year in which the children create a Bible Notebook containing their narrations and illustrations. (The Notebooks are precious keepsakes for Mom in later years, btw!)

MFW CtG assumes that the children are a bit older and are capable of reading and narrating well. CtG includes mapwork that would be difficult and unnecessary for most 1st graders, imo. Also, some of the content would have been upsetting to my sensitive children when they were in 1st grade. Personally, I have really enjoyed using it with older children.