Menu

Suggestions for a 2nd grader?

Pookamama

DS is 6 now, confidently reading, and flying through Singapore 1B.

He grasps things easily, has a very good memory, strong conceptual skills, and I want him to be challenged but I am very new at homeschooling. I have three younger ones. The five year old will be participating in any subject he can.

I bought TOG for next year but that doesn't science. I am not confident in my planning abilities. I also wonder if it's overkill for a 6/7 year old and if it's something we could institute later when I am more confident in my abilities as a homeschooling mother.

I think I want to stick with Singapore math. DS has been grasping the concepts and most of what we are going through now is too easy for him, thus the vrooming through.

Are there any boxed curriculum that will let me keep my own math, offer an open-up and go and include science, history, Bible, and literature? (And anything else a 2nd grader should be getting?)

Are there any that are Charlotte Mason like? Not absolutely necessary but from what I've read so far there is a lot about Charlotte Mason mindsets that appeal to me. I was reading quite a bit on the Ambleside online page and will look into it more but I want to know what else I can be looking at.

One thing that I feel like I'm hesitant about Charlotte Mason is that science mostly consists of outside time and with lots of little ones I don't know I'll be able to spend a ton of time outside (especially with Oregon's nine month rainy season) and I actually think it sounds fun to learn a bit of chemistry or physics or biology. We've had some Bill Nye videos from the library and DS loves them. So does any 2nd curriculum include that or should I get a separate science curriculum as well?

Ok, that's all the questions I can think of now. I may have more in the morning!