Menu

Singapore Word Problem Help!

How would you solve this...they haven't yet done Algebra or dividing by fractions. I can't figure out how to solve this without either Algebra or with the bar diagrams we keep ending up needing to divide by a fraction. There has to be a way but I just can't see it....

Thanks in advance...

There were three times as many jelly beans in Jar A as in Jar B. After 2685 beans in Jar A were sold, Jar B had twice as many jelly beans as Jar A. How many more jelly beans were there in Jar A than in Jar B at first?

I'm not good at drawing the bar diagram on the computer but we did that and we've gotten to the point of seeing that 2685 is equal to 2 1/2 B but he hasn't yet done dividing by fractions and I can't figure out how to do it without teaching that. I'm wondering if there is a way to set up the problem so we don't end up dividing by a fraction.

There were three times as many jelly beans in Jar A as in Jar B. After 2685 beans in Jar A were sold, Jar B had twice as many jelly beans as Jar A. How many more jelly beans were there in Jar A than in Jar B at first?

Before:

Jar A (I've given six rather than three divisions to avoid dealing with a half in the after diagram)

|-----|-----|-----|-----|-----|-----|

Jar B

|-----|-----|

After:

Jar A

|----|<------------2658----------->

Jar B

|-----|-----|

The difference between Jar A before and after is 2685, so 5 of it's 6 divisions represent 2684. So one part is 537 and the original six parts are 3222.