Menu

Printers are going to drive me nuts.

Found a printer I liked (has to have a copier) and it was on sale for 100. Then I went and looked up the cartridges-100. :glare::confused: And you know you can't ever just use ONE cartridge.

But, it's supposed to print out 600 pages on ONE cartridge-is there any merit to that?

I just feel like printers and ink are the biggest scam going. :glare:

I've been using my Canon MP600 for about five years now. It's no longer made, but there must be a replacement model.

I won't say it conserves ink, but it's never given me a minute's trouble. It even prints great photos if I remember to get into the settings first and tweak a bit.

I really like the brother laser jet printers. I'm on my second one (first one lasted 6 years or so, it actually still works but is making strange noises. we bought a new one while we had the money verses waiting till it dies because we didn't know if we'd have the money at that point and didn't want to be without a printer). Printer cost is about $200 but the cartridges cost about $50 (or $65 if you get the high density ones). But a base cartridge gives you about 2000 sheets and the high density is about 4500 sheets. So you pay more up front, but the long term cost is lower.

I have a fantastic Dell laser all-in-one printer that has served me well for years. I've only bought 2 or 3 cartridges for it and I print quite a bit. Then I replaced my Gateway laptop with a MacBook and the Dell will.not.print. with it. I've been able to use it still, it's just complicated. I hate the idea of searching for a new printer.

My husband does some cockamamie thing with toner that involves -- I think -- refilling the cartridge thing himself. Does that sound plausible? I don't actually know what he does, but it involves a fair amount of mess and apparently saves quite a bit of money. Hmm. I will try to remember to ask him about it later and post.