Menu

Curious - beginning reading - Primer level - age

SKL

At what age was your child reading comfortably at the "Primer" level? Please also state whether your child is a boy or girl.

I have a daughter working to overcome learning barriers, and I want to get a feel for where she falls within the range of beginning readers.

Thanks!

My daughter was a young 5 starting K (late summer birthday) and didn't know all her letter sounds at that time. She was reading on a primer level by the end of K but it was not "fluent" in that she really worked to sound out words.

My DS turned 4 this month and is already reading on Primer level and he pretty much self taught.

None of my kids were reading on a comfortable primer level until the end of K/beginning of first grade. All of them are now reading "above grade level."

It might be helpful to define what you mean by primer level. I am defining it based on the primers I taught with as a first grade teacher--basic words like cat, play, the, cvc words.

As a teacher some kids (without problems) did not pass this level until mid first grade and were strong readers at the end of the year.

Oldest was 4.5 and started out at that level (self-taught, took off quickly, never did the CVC sounding out stage at all). My middle one was 5 in November and is still sounding out everything (and has been since he was a young 4!). I think it will be a while before he can read a Primer (I assume you mean something like the Treadwell Primer?). I'm thinking those are more 1st grade reading level usually, so I wouldn't expect every K'er to read those, especially at this time of year.

I remember in my son's K class, about this time of year, a mom of another child posted on FB that her son had just read his first book (very easy reader, Bob book type book). In first grade, he was in the "advanced reading" group. Sometimes you just have to wait for that click.