Menu

Managing Work/School and Homeschool

Guest Charlotte J

Guest Charlotte J

Hi there,

First post. Please be gentle with me. ;)

We are not, at this time, a homeschooling family. I am very interested, my husband is less so. He has several concerns, including socialization (which I'm slowly working on with him), and budget. I'm a part-time student right now, taking pre-requisites for a nursing degree. This is a second career for me, as I spent the last twelve years as a systems analyst. Short version - nursing can be done part time (more time with family), systems analysis cannot.

I have two kids, Henry, age 6 and in first grade, and Edward, age 5 and in kindergarten. Edward has just been diagnosed with ADHD, combined type. He's not having any trouble learning anything, just sitting still while doing so. IN addition to so many other reasons that HSing is attractive to me, in a home environment we could be a little more flexible with his needs.

For the next year and a half, I'm only taking 7 credits a semester, which I can do in the evening and on-line. But after that, I'll either be doing a 2 year local associates program, with clinicals, or an 18 month accelerated BSN program an hour's drive away. The local program could potentially allow me to HS in the mornings, and do clinicals and classes in the afternoon or evening. It would be a LOT, but doable.

So the meat of my question... I know a lot of homeschooling families have two jobs, or schedules which don't allow one parent to be home full time. What do you do about child care? I know there's an option of a private nanny, but with one income and me in school, the budget is tight. Maybe I'm looking for something that doesn't exist, but I'm sure that there are probably situations I haven't even thought of.

I'm all ears!

Thanks,

Charlotte

Hi Charlotte!