Menu

Can you recommend something to teach good essay writing?

Have you ever looked at Write Shop? Judging from your other curriculum picks and the specific questions you've had about teaching writing, I think this would be a great choice for your family.

(I'm not an expert on it. My older boys have entirely different opinions on Write Shop. The older uses TOG's Writing Aids but the younger loves Write Shop. I do intend to use it for my third son, who is a fifth grader, when he gets to seventh grade.)

Write Shop is in no way elegant. It is very much a git-er-done curriculum, full of very specific nitpicky handholding stuff. You'll either love it or hate it.

Have you ever looked at Write Shop? Judging from your other curriculum picks and the specific questions you've had about teaching writing, I think this would be a great choice for your family.

(I'm not an expert on it. My older boys have entirely different opinions on Write Shop. The older uses TOG's Writing Aids but the younger loves Write Shop. I do intend to use it for my third son, who is a fifth grader, when he gets to seventh grade.)

Write Shop is in no way elegant. It is very much a git-er-done curriculum, full of very specific nitpicky handholding stuff. You'll either love it or hate it.

Off to check it out! Thanks :001_smile:

• 2 weeks later...

We just finished The Elegant Essay. Pros - easy to use. Open and go. Very little prep work for instructor. It is simple and clear. The focus is learning the steps to writing an organized paper. Cons - I found the assignments a bit boring. Instead of using them, I had the kids write about literature they were reading.

We're moving onto LTOW . More work for the instructor, but also helps the kids learn to think more.