Menu

Cursive First? Please help!

4Kiddos

I am gearing up to start teaching my oldest son reading/handwriting. I reading through SWR as they have you do both simultaneously and am working on doing the learning log myself. They recommend teaching cursive first before manuscript handwriting. I learned manuscript first and was wondering if teaching cursive first will cause a problem with my ds being able to recognize the words in learning to read. He knows his phonogram sounds and I wanted to make the next step but I feel a little worried. Plus, I am just worried in general as this is my first time teaching anything! Did anyone here teach cursive first? Did your dc have a problem with reading and recognizing the words? For those of you who taught manuscript first, why did you? What do you all think? I would appreciate your help!

I used Cursive First along with SWR for my oldest son. He didn't seem to have any problems going back and forth between reading print and writing cursive. You'll teach him to write the cursive letters, but when you learn the phonograms using the flashcards they will will be in print so he'll get used to both.

Now, my second son didn't seem to catch on as fast to SWR and didn't love the cursive, so I let him go back to manuscript after we learned all of the cursive letters. I also had him do a workbook based phonics program and then we came back to SWR as a spelling list.

I'm starting my 5yo daughter on Cursive First and SWR and it's going slowly, but well.

So... all that to say if you want to do cursive first, I would just try it and see how your son does! I bet he'll do fine. If not, there are other ways to get it all done. Each child is so different!

Good luck with your teaching!