Menu

HELP New at homeschooling and High schooler very behind

Guest Jessie

Hello, I am VERY new to homeschooling and will try to

make this as short and to the point as possible. I hope I started this thread at the right forum, I apologize if I didn't :) My

nephew is 17 yrs old (18 this summer) and is way behind

in his subjects. It is very long and horrible story that

includes some health problems his mother had, and the

divorce his parents had making his mother homeschooling

as a single parent before her cancer came about. Anyway's

my sister's health got the best of her, she thought she

was getting help with her son's education, (his father)

plus he wasn't working as independently as he should have

been, and now it's his junior yr (or should I say the

year he'd be in if he were in public school) and he is

just now starting Algebra, (seems to be having a hard

time with it as well) and is on an 8th grade level in

Language arts, he absolutely hates writing as well, but I

think mainly it's because he is behind. His reading

comprehension could also be better, oh and I forgot to

mention he has ADD, and depression, zero self-esteem the

depression is from almost losing his mother, and the

divorce of his parents, he is also an only child. My

sister has no family but me and is still very ill, I am

taking it upon myself to help her out, although I work

part-time, this child need's more than what his parents

can give him. He is just soo behind I don't have a clue

as to what to do?! I work part-time so some of his

studies would have to be independent (he and I have

already discussed the importance in this and this time I

think he is serious about catching up)I don't think that

putting him back in public school would help,they would

put him back to 7th or 8th grade. I am glad he is the

only child I need to focus on, but I do not know where to

start, especially since he is so behind?! It's almost as