Menu

Break In in my neighborhood

I am so nervous.

There have been two home break ins on my street and last night someones car was broken into. Barely a block away another home was broken into. In one break in no one was home (2:30 in the afternoon) and the other was during the night and the elderly couple at home never woke up.

I have lived here 10 years and have never experienced anything like this.

I have a security system and a big loud dog (although I'm not sure how much help she would be besides barking).

Anyone have a gun for protection?

You might want to phone the local police dept. and ask for help. They are probably aware of things happening, putting on extra patrols, stuff like this. They can also come over to your house or advise you what steps to take if you are missing any to make your home more secure.

You could set up a neighborhood facebook page, be a little bit activist about it, go door to door and say hi to everyone-stuff like that, contacts numbers and such. Depends on the kind of neighborhood you live in and your comfort level.

The 2:30 afternoon thing makes me think it's probably someone within the neighborhood ..probably a teen or something...pretty aware of who goes where and when.

If you don't normally have this kind of stuff going on and that fast of a pattern picking up, it's probably not going to stop until they get caught.

Owning firearms - this is a topic unto itself. There's a ton of responsibility and training that goes hand in hand with ownership.

Are you trained in firearms?

I feel for you.

A kid who lives in the neighborhood behind us tried to break into our house a few yrs ago.

I know who it is because the police came and dusted for fingerprints and he had also been to other people's homes (guess he'd already been in trouble before)--- not the brightest kid.