Menu

Photoshop Elements 10: What's the learning curve for total newbie to photo editing?

After a 10 year hiatus from scrapbooking (Creative Memories), I'm jumping back in. This time, with Project Life. I love the *idea* of digital scrapping because of the fact that I can produce duplicate albums for my kiddos as they grow up and get married.

I know absolutely nothing about Photoshop or Photoshop Elements. I have a point and shoot digital camera. I've saved all these images on my computer for the last several years, but haven't even figured out how best to label and easily access all the hundreds of photos I've saved.

Project Life offers 2 digital options: Shutterfly and Jessica Sprague. Shutterfly seems like the easiest option for a newcomer, but the layouts and options for journaling are really not anything like the *signature* Project Life layouts. The Jessica Sprague option is what I'm interested in, but I'm afraid of the learning curve. I know nothing of Photoshop jargon, actions, layers, zipping and unzipping, files, etc...

How many hours am I looking at to get something like this up and running? Will I be spending many frustrating hours only to end up with $ out of pocket for photoshop, online tutorials, and digital scrapping supplies only to quit?

I'm trying to begin with the end in mind, meaning I really do know that I want the finished product to be digital and "page by page" printable instead of in a shutterfly prebound book.

But I'm also trying to be realistic about my time availability and effort involved in learning and maintaining a digital scrapbook.

Any input would be fabulous, especially if you started from scratch at some point, too, and found it to be wonderful/overwhelming/fill in the blank.