Menu

Couple questions, re: independent/semi independent work

I search the forums, and found some good resources, but not exactly what I'm looking for. Since I'm a student, time is an extremely valuable resource. So I have found ways to make things more independent for DD. (almost 6, not reading independently yet).

Anyways, my mother will be moving in with us soon. I have plenty that I can leave behind for DD to do (math review worksheets, Hooked on Phonics French, French movies and audio books, mazes, phonic worksheets printed online, handwriting worksheets...) but I'm really hoping to find a way to involve my mom in DD's schoolwork. My father just passed away and I'm very, very concerned about my mom's emotional status. (Before anyone suggests it- I've already started looking for a grief counselor. And I'm going to be posting next to the general board for more ideas.. :tongue_smilie:) I think that being involved with DD will really help. The thing is, it can't be anything she actually needs to "teach". She couldn't teach math, or reading or anything like that. But I was thinking maybe an art program? Something with very clear directions, but still fun to do? I did think that getting a children's cookbook for them to work through would be fun too. Stuff like that....

Thanks!

I would have her tell your daughter stories about her life. Wonderful opportunity to learn about how things were different "back then." No dishwashers, no computers, no credit cards, early cars without seatbelts, living on a farm, etc. As your daughter gets older (probably much older), she can focus on modern history. What it was like to live through Vietnam, Cuban Missile Crisis, WW2, and the space race.