Menu

Must we do the science Big Four?

(Total newbie here, please be gentle!)

I am trying to plan a decent 4yr high school program for a kid who currently says she wants to go into graphic arts or advertising in college. She does okay in math and science but it is very obvious that she has little interest in those subjects. However, she is pretty into animal training and general zoology.

That said, is it a MUST to do the Big Four - biology, chemistry, and physics, and environmental science for high school?

How much leeway is there to do something like biology, chemistry, zoology, and maybe mammalian anatomy or behavioral psychology?

And what exactly constitutes a lab class? We live on a farm and have all sorts of access to both wild and domestic animals that could be taught to do...whatever. I have a background in marine mammology and training and can come up with intensive hands-on field work for zoology or behavioral psych. Due to all the local meat production, hunting, plus very accommodating veterinarians and a few exotic species farms, I'm sure we could create a nifty zoology lab experience.

So, I guess my question is just how locked in are we to doing the standard classes? Dd is not enjoying 8th grade physical science, and to be honest we both kind of glazed over and just went through the required hoops for astronomy back in 7th.

Also, is the order the classes are taken really such a big deal? Does anyone really care if a non-science major took chemistry in 11th grade(when she could do it as part of a PSEO program with a "traditional" lab)? Right now I am thinking about doing biology for 9th, zoology and/or mammalian anatomy for 10th, chem for 11th, and behavioral psych for 12th. All with what I comprehend to be "labs" attached.