Menu

A BTDT question for all you Singapore math veterans...

I know there are many of you who frequent this board and use Singapore in conjunction w/ another math curriculum. There are also many who use Singapore exclusively. For those of you who fall into this latter category, do you ever look back and wish you had supplemented w/ another program, whether it be for extra review or drill or perhaps just another approach?? Do you think your kiddos would have been better off had you used another resource alongside the Singapore texts, or are you fully satisfied w/ the results of Singapore alone?

I've been using Horizons and Singapore for a few years now, and while I've been very pleased w/ this combo, I'm starting to think that I'd like to drop Horizons and focus exclusively on the Singapore books (ds will be starting 4A in the fall). I'm a bit nervous, though, as the combo provided a safety net of sorts; I felt secure in using the two b/c I was sure my boys would be well covered that way. Now I'm just wondering if it's necessary... any thoughts??

Well, we're only in level 3, so I may not have "BTDT" enough yet to be really helpful, but I have been quite satisfied using Singapore and only doing specific topic/drill supplementation as needed rather than combining with an entire other curriculum. I've pulled in drill on math facts and a few extra worksheets from things at the dollar store. The closest I have come to using another program is having downloaded the clock section of Math Mammoth recently, as that was a sticking point for my daughter.

You might find that the new standards edition of Singapore is more to your taste for a stand alone program. It has more review built in and a couple additional topics that you might find in, say, Horizons.