Menu

note to self-stay away from college confidential

Ok.. I just need to stay away from that place. Honestly, if you have any brains at all you should go to UT or Rice. REALLY??? UT Austin is SO huge. He would not be wasting his educational potential by going to TCU or Baylor. They are fine schools... Good grief...

That is all. Thank you for listening to my rant.

Personally, I'd be THRILLED if my kids went to either Baylor or TCU! Both are very good schools! (DH is a Baylor alumnus.) Oh, and I agree with you about the size of UT main campus. My kids would completely flounder at a place that large, no matter how good a school it is!

I'm an 89 Baylor grad and dh is 87.

One just needs to realize who's on college confidential and take any advice accordingly. The majority of posts are from students (or parents) in gung ho private or public schools who feel the need to have prestige. It's their socio-economic class I suppose. That's not the majority of people out there. It's a very small cross section.

As I've stated before, I work at a subpar public high school (but close to average nationally) where the majority of kids get a subpar education IMO. Yet almost half make it in to college and many get some sort of merit aid with scores as low as 1500 (all three sections) on the SAT. Our college bound average is lower than that. These kids aren't making it into Ivy league schools, but the schools they are going to provide them with the knowledge needed to make a living.

That's what I consider the "low level" college future (local success generally heading toward local jobs). There are plenty of opportunities higher than that without even touching the halls of perceived prestige. With my high stat middle son, we chose to apply to places that were best for him - not necessarily best according to college confidential posters. He's happy with his choices and I'm confident he can have any future he wants from where he's going.