Menu

Have you been asked if homeschooling is legal?

Yes. My cousin was horrified to learn that people legally homeschool. She had assumed that homeschoolers were breaking the law.

Wow! I have never been asked that. I guess it shouldn't be too shocking that people think that. Your cousin actually thought you were breaking the law huh? There's a character boost for ya! :glare:

Edited by QuirkyKapers

I used to get asked that a LOT when I moved here 11 years ago. There were virtually no other home educators around, and almost every time I was out with the kids during school hours, I'd be asked if it was legal when I'd say that we home educated. Librarians, shop keepers, everyone. It was a bit annoying, but not that big a deal.

Yes, several times. The people who ask sometimes ask if I'm a teacher, and if not, how am I qualified to homeschool. It gets old.

My neighbor 2 doors down (and I consider a friend) told me that she thinks Hsing should be illegal, plain and simple. She harped on HSing every time we got together for a while, so I have avoided hanging out in the last 6 months. I particularly don't appreciate it being said in front of my kids.

I realize the situation with HSing is different in Germany (where it is illegal I believe), and it is partially a cultural thing perhaps (she moved here from Germany years ago). However, she's lived in the US for over a decade. She recently went back to school to get her education degree, so perhaps that plays into it.

Edited by Momof3littles