Menu

Curriculum: how do you learn to relax about it?

Mommie_Jen

I'm not even sure this will make sense, but I'm going to try!

How do you get out of the mindset of "it says we have to do it, so we have to do it"? I am totally like that. Where do you find the freedom to slow it down, the knowledge of how to expand on something, and the knowing when enough is enough?

Does it just come with experience and trial and error?

Obviously, I'm pretty new at this!

don't know if this will make any sense either. it has taken me awhile to learn that "I" teach my children, not the curriculum. I use to have the mind set that if i just did everything the curriculum said and had the "right" curriculum, I would be set. After some time, i have gained some confidence in realizing that i know my child best and i do have the wisdom to teach-the curriculum is merelly the guide. I do a lot of what the curriculum has listed, but sometimes in a different order, a different time line, or add in things. Life happens and I don't let the curriculum rule my life-I am in control.

Does that make sense?

pj

It comes and goes in waves. As I get more confident about my kid's abilities (and my own) I move away from strictly adhering to what the book says. And then something will trip me up or I'll panic and we'll go back to using it as intended. Some subjects are better than others (and some I just really like the curriculum and how it fits my kid!) but yeah...waves.

It comes and goes in waves. As I get more confident about my kid's abilities (and my own) I move away from strictly adhering to what the book says. And then something will trip me up or I'll panic and we'll go back to using it as intended. Some subjects are better than others (and some I just really like the curriculum and how it fits my kid!) but yeah...waves.

Same here, I think.