Menu

Now that I can make a good pie: how to homeschool? advice from long-timers

I'm popping over from my usual K-8 hangout, hoping for some sensible advice (since the last time I was here y'all were very kind and helpful).

An "Ah-ha!" moment hit me Thursday and I'm still reeling :001_huh:. As part of Thanksgiving dinner I made an apple pie, and it was AMAZING! even I thought so :D. I have been making apple pies for about 14 years now, and have finally got it down. Tips from Julia Child, Cook's Illustrated, Alice Waters, and the folks at Whole Foods, plus the accumulation of years of experience, brought it all together.

But I've only been homeschooling for a couple of years; and in 14, Button will be gone! And while pies and homeschooling are not identical (I don't make a pie nearly every day) it has been argued by clever folks that it takes about 10 years to get really expert at anything.

So my question is: do you have any pointers to shorten my learning curve? Are there ideas that made a real difference, or particular writers that exerted a strong influence? I'm not even sure what are the most important questions to ask, but thought I'd try folks who have been schooling a while, or are nearer the end of the homsechooling journey and might have reflected on such things. These days I feel so caught in the trees (of our daily and yearly goals, and managing the home) that I am not sure I'm in the right part of the forest. What is the home educating equivalent of cold flour and butter, careful measuring, good proportions of sugar and salt, just enough water and some fraisage to bring the dough together -- plus a judicious mix of sweet and tart apples :)?

I realize this is vague, hope it isn't annoying, and am very grateful for any replies you make.

You might want to take a look at this recent thread with a similar theme:

s/o 9th grade disaster