Menu

What would you do with this K'er? (self-taught sight-reader)

jplain

I'm trying to figure out how to proceed with my 5.75 yo. Much to my dismay, she taught herself to sight-read when she was 4. She currently reads at a late first or early second grade level, comfortably devouring material around Lexile 400. However, when she does encounter an unfamiliar word, she guesses. I'm concerned that she's not absorbing phonics instruction (ETC), and that this'll eventually limit her reading progress and her spelling ability.

Though she can spell CVC words just fine, she doesn't seem to grasp other phonics topics very well. For example, if she's tackling an unfamiliar word, and I hint that the first syllable contains a long vowel, she'll often guess the short vowel sound anyway. Though she can read /ch/ easily, if I ask her what letters spell the sound /ch/, she'll guess "th" about half the time.

She's more than a little bit goofy, so although she's interested in spelling, I cringe at the idea of starting AAS with her right now. When using magnetic letter tiles, the tiles talk to each other as they jostle into position. She will deliberately assemble them out of order, and then make them argue with each other (each speaking in a different voice) about how to rearrange themselves. In the process of using the tiles as puppets, she might forget what word she was trying to spell. Hilarious, yes, but it also takes forever and makes me want to poke my eyes out. :lol:

Memorized rules don't seem to sink in. We tried FLL1 in September, and then shelved it. She could parrot back the definition of a noun, but clearly didn't understand it. No biggie, FLL can wait. We also have tried Bravewriter's The Wand, but that wasn't a good fit either, as some of the lessons seem much too esoteric for a 5/6 year old.