Menu

Being the guidance counselor

I'll be honest, this is the part that scares me most about homeschooling high school. I did not attend college and it's been eons since I graduated. I've read a lot on the technical details, but I'm looking for hints on the subtleties.

At this point my son has two very diverse interests, physics and video editing/special effects. He's not currently aiming for Ivy, preferably we'd like him to attend college instate (MO), but that's subject to change. As are his interests.

However, I'm doing some footwork. I'm checking out state colleges that might offer a degree in his interests. I'd like to show him some options and what they require as part of his prep for high school. He's an average student. He'd probably do better at a smaller college, but again I know a lot can change in 4 years.

In my quest to find what is out there I'm feeling overwhelmed. How do I know what is a "good" school? How do I know if a school is respected for the particular department ds desires? Asking around won't do much as our academic circle of influence is small. I'm on the hs2college yahoo group and I can google, but... any other tips would be helpful.

Also I'm finding some schools seem to put you in classes for your major right away, a few seem to require a lot of core classes. What are the pros/cons of that?

What about video/digital arts programs? Maybe I'll do a spin off on that, but I see film programs, communication programs, degrees for animation. For instance the film/video program for our local college is tied in with the theater program, but ds has no interest in theater. I'd rather he find a school where the programs were more defined.

Is it too soon to order information from colleges? That would be mainly for me right now. I do better looking through printed information than online.

I just want to make sure I'm aware of the options as he expresses/changes/solidifies his desires. Off to cook...

• Replies 105
  • Created
  • Last Reply