Menu

New Adult Student of Classical Education Seeks Advice

Hello,

I am fairly new to the idea of classical education. I first learned about the Trivium from a mentor of mine that attend Oxford for his doctorate in Theology. The more I read and learn about classical education, the more I feel cheated (both by myself and by the educational system I was raised in) out of my childhood learning. Not that I am bitter, just longing. Now I feel as though I am way behind. I am 32 years old with a busy life. I have two young children and a lovely wife and a full-time job and mortgage. But I am very much interested in advancing my education. Not necessarily through degrees, but more so through self-enlightenment. I would like to learn how to learn, how to think logically, argue properly, and mature in knowledge of God. Basically, to train my mind via the tenants of the Trivium. My hope is that someone can offer some guidance on how I can begin that journey. Are there books, CD or DVD series that beginning adults can pick up to start the process? Are there online courses, etc...? Any advice would be appreciated and well received.

post-39042-13535085787842_thumb.jpg

Are you familiar with Susan Wise Bauer's The Well-Educated Mind: A Guide to the Classical Education You Never Had? SWB is also the author of The Well-Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home and the host of this board. The WEM is a roadmap to a Classical Education and will give you some good ideas to start your self education.

Regards,

Kareni

Are you familiar with Susan Wise Bauer's The Well-Educated Mind: A Guide to the Classical Education You Never Had? SWB is also the author of The Well-Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home and the host of this board. The WEM is a roadmap to a Classical Education and will give you some good ideas to start your self education.

Regards,

Kareni

:iagree: