Menu

Grammar: MCT or FLL?

ksoika

Hi all,

I need to choose a grammar program for when we finish phonics. Does anyone have any thoughts on the difference between FLL and MCT? I have a perception that FLL is less complex, but that may not be accurate. I'm hoping for a fairly rigorous program.

Thanks,

Kelli

GWG and WWW?

(I'm new to homeschooling!)

(I feel like a student who learned a few phrases in a foreign language and quickly talked herself into a conversation she quickly can't follow!)

She'll be 7 when we start. I read a few threads about starting MCT around that age and skipping a more basic grammar program. I'm finding that my daughter gets bored easily when work reinforces what she already knows so I'm afraid FLL might cover much of the same ground we've covered as she's learned to read (parts of a sentence, punctuation, types of sentences) and as we've worked on narration and memorization.

Then again, I don't want to burn through a curriculum that could be okay now but would be great in a few years.

Maybe there are some other options I haven't considered.

Thanks,

Kelli

GWG and WWW?

(I'm new to homeschooling!)

(I feel like a student who learned a few phrases in a foreign language and quickly talked herself into a conversation she quickly can't follow!)

She'll be 7 when we start. I read a few threads about starting MCT around that age and skipping a more basic grammar program. I'm finding that my daughter gets bored easily when work reinforces what she already knows so I'm afraid FLL might cover much of the same ground we've covered as she's learned to read (parts of a sentence, punctuation, types of sentences) and as we've worked on narration and memorization.

Then again, I don't want to burn through a curriculum that could be okay now but would be great in a few years.

Maybe there are some other options I haven't considered.

Thanks,

Kelli

Growing with Grammar and Winning with Writing :)