Menu

How many of you have adopted a dog/cat from the pound?

We are still looking and searching for our doggie. :001_smile: There are so many available and I am no expert by any means. You've given me great breeds to look for & some mixes even. I am worried about house breaking, a dog that barks incessantly, or one that nips.

I am aware that good dogs can be found at the pound. I am hesitant because I don't really know what to look for........

Any thoughts or tips?

We got our kitty from the pound about ten years ago, and she has been a fabulous addition. One bit of advice we were given, which I'm guessing applies to dogs as well, is to look for a grown animal rather than a kitten or puppy. The reasoning is that you can get a much better idea of their long-term personality.

I would also say to take your time. At our shelter, they had a little room you could go in to interact with the animals, that was very helpful. Plan to go more than once, and plan to leave for a discussion before making a final decision. Sometimes you really need to break the spell of cuteness in order to think things through :D

... I am worried about house breaking, a dog that barks incessantly, or one that nips...

Regardless of the breed, you are GOING to have a problem if you don't get yourself trained on how to own and discipline a pet, prior to getting your new pet.

That, and I'd recommend a young dog; puppy or young adult. It's more hassle but you don't have to worry about "hidden issues" that could arise unexpectedly...sometimes years later, and result in a child in the hospital.

Much of "long-term personality" is a result of how you have established the dog as a member of your pack.